Stations of the Cross

Early in the Christian movement, Jesus’ followers remembered Jesus’
execution and the places where various parts occurred, recounting the details. By the Middle Ages, pilgrimages to Jerusalem for Holy Week were like the Muslim Haj—a once-in-a-lifetime pilgrimage. When people couldn’t go to Jerusalem to walk the via Dolorosa with Christ, the ritual of the stations of the cross was born so that people could journey with Christ spiritually in their own parish devotion. Annually, the churches in Highlands gather to walk the stations in an ecumenical service of
scripture, singing, and prayer.

In light of our current situation, the clergy in town made the sad decision to cancel this year’s town-wide service. In lieu of this ecumenical service, pastors Curtis and Emily led worshippers virtually on an online journey through the stations on our own church campus, remembering the painful path that Jesus walked.

The First Station: Jesus on the Mount of Olives
The Second Station: Jesus, betrayed by Judas, is arrested
The Third Station: Jesus is Condemned by the Sanhedrin
The Fourth Station: Peter Denies Jesus
The Fifth Station: Jesus is judged by Pilate
The Sixth Station: Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns
The Seventh Station: Jesus takes up the cross
The Eighth Station: Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry his cross
The Ninth Station: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
The Tenth Station: Jesus is crucified
The Eleventh Station: Jesus promises the kingdom to the good thief
The Twelfth Station: Jesus on the cross, his mother, and his disciple
The Thirteenth Station: Jesus dies on the cross
The Fourteenth Station: Jesus is placed in the tomb

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *